A Scottish Journey - From Edinburgh to the Highlands & Isle of Skye, Isles of Mull & Iona

Inverness, St. Andrews, Isle of Skye, Isle of Mull & Isle of Iona


8 DAYS • 7 NIGHTS • UP TO 15 GUESTS
Small Group tour of Scottish Highlands and Hebrides Islands. See castles of Scotland. Towering mountains and enchanting lochs. Dramatic cliff-top castles and hideaway villages. Infamous battles and inexplicable legends. We journey up and down Scotland, from coastal cities to Hebridean Islands, seeking out its one-of-a-kind landscapes, mesmerising history and undeniable charm. Visit the Isle of Skye, and travel from Mull to the religious center of Iona.

THE LYNOTT TOURS DIFFERENCE  

  • Enjoy a private tour of some of Scotland’s most stunning castles
  • Enjoy a whisky talk and tasting
  • Live like an islander with two nights on the stunning Isle of Skye and the striking Isle of Mull

DETAILED ITINERARY

DAY 1 EDINBURGH – ST ANDREWS – BALLATER
ST. ANdrews We explore old seafaring villages, mysterious ruins and a royal love story (Kate and William) introduces us to Scotland. We begin by travelling through towering mountains and East Neuk fishing villages before we arrive in St Andrews, a tiny town with a big reputation for world-class golf and Scotland’s oldest university. To end our day, we meet with Ballater and enjoy a delicious welcome dinner together.Accommodation: (Loch Kinord Hotel) (D)

DAY 2 BALLATER – CAWDOR CASTLE  – CULLODEN – INVERNESS
Our day begins in a dramatic fashion as we travel on through the awe-inspiring scenery and arrive at the Cawdor Castle. After an insightful morning, we visit Clava Cairns and observe the historic tombs and the Culloden Visitor Centre at the battlefield before reaching our final destination, Inverness. ​Accommodation: (Waterside Hotel) (B,D)


DAY 3 INVERNESS
We’ve had an exciting start to the week! This morning we embark on a walking tour around Inverness with your Tour Leader, then the rest of the day is at your leisure to enjoy.​Accommodation: (Waterside Hotel) (B)

Iona DAY 4 INVERNESS – LOCH NESS – PLOCKTON – ISLE OF SKYE
We can’t come here and not dip our toes in the Loch Ness legend. While we may not spy the eponymous ‘Loch Ness Monster’, we will discover the staggering sight of a deep, mirror-like loch. Our pre-lunch entertainment offers a visit to Plockton, where painted cottages are clustered around a little harbour. With our appetites for the outdoors whetted, we sit down to a seafood lunch in Kyle of Lochalsh, Wester Ross. Today’s final drive is to the Isle of Skye, where we’ll be for two nights. ​Accommodation: (Eilean Iarmain Hotel) (B,L)

DAY 5 ISLE OF SKYE
Sensational landscapes, rare wildlife and imagination-firing history – Skye delivers on every level. This is North Highland scenery on a grand scale and we immerse ourselves in its unique geology, including the extraordinary Quiraing, Kilt Rock and Old Man of Storr. Of course, no visit would be complete without a dram of island-made whisky, which we sip during a whisky talk and tasting at the hotel. ​Accommodation: (Eilean Iarmain Hotel (B,D)

DAY 6 ISLE OF SKYE – FORT WILLIAM – ISLE OF MULL
Post box ScotlandContinuing our journey through soul-stirring Scottish scenery, we visit Fort William – a magnet for outdoor enthusiasts. Next, there’s just a short ferry ride to the Isle of Mull. ​Accommodation: (Western Isles Hotel) (B)

DAY 7 ISLE OF MULL – ISLE OF IONA – ISLE OF MULL
The best way to see the Hebrides is by island hopping, and today we do just that. From Mull’s little village of Fionnphort we sail to Iona, a gem of an island with exquisite natural beauty. It’s a serene spot for a wander, which takes us to Iona Abbey and Nunnery. When we return to Mull we’ll have our history hats on and visit the Macquaries Museums and peek inside the Duart Castle which offers grand staterooms and empty dungeons. This craggy fortress, clinging to a coastal cliff is the oldest inhabited castle on the island. We then return to the warm welcome of our hotel and share a final group dinner together. ​Accommodation: (Western Isles Hotel) (B,D)

DAY 8 ISLE OF MULL – STIRLING – EDINBURGH
Stirling Taking to the sea once again we return to the mainland. It’s been a tour delving deep in Scotland’s heritage, so it’s only right we finish with a stop via Stirling. A walk through the old town brings us to the magnificent hilltop castle. As one of Scotland’s most impressive and important monuments, it’s the perfect end to our tour before we arrive back in Edinburgh. (B)

INCLUSIONS

  • 7 nights in boutique accommodation
  • Experienced Driver & Tour Leader
  • Premium mini-coach transportation
  • Ferry crossings
  • Full Scottish breakfast daily (B), 1 seafood lunch (L), 4 evening meals (D)

Entrance included to: St Andrews University, Cawdor Castle, Clava Cairns, Culloden, Iona Abbey & Nunnery, Macquaries Mausoleum, Duart Castle and Stirling Castle

This tour commences from Roxburghe Hotel at 8.30am, returns 530PM

Scottish Journey 2018
Starts  Edinburgh Ends Edinburgh Price per person USD
Sunday 18-Mar-18 Sunday 25-Mar-18 3199
Tuesday 3-Apr-18 Tuesday 10-Apr-18 3299
Thursday 12-Apr-18 Thursday 19-Apr-18 3299
Sunday 22-Apr-18 Sunday 29-Apr-18 3299
Tuesday 1-May-18 Tuesday 8-May-18 3299
Sunday 6-May-18 Sunday 13-May-18 3299
Thursday 10-May-18 Thursday 17-May-18 3299
Sunday 13-May-18 Sunday 20-May-18 3299
Tuesday 15-May-18 Tuesday 22-May-18 3299
Thursday 17-May-18 Thursday 24-May-18 3299
Sunday 20-May-18 Sunday 27-May-18 3299
Thursday 24-May-18 Thursday 31-May-18 3299
Sunday 27-May-18 Sunday 3-Jun-18 3299
Thursday 31-May-18 Thursday 7-Jun-18 3299
Sunday 3-Jun-18 Sunday 10-Jun-18 3299
Thursday 7-Jun-18 Thursday 14-Jun-18 3299
Sunday 10-Jun-18 Sunday 17-Jun-18 3299
Thursday 14-Jun-18 Thursday 21-Jun-18 3299
Sunday 17-Jun-18 Sunday 24-Jun-18 3299
Thursday 21-Jun-18 Thursday 28-Jun-18 3299
Sunday 24-Jun-18 Sunday 1-Jul-18 3299
Thursday 28-Jun-18 Thursday 5-Jul-18 3299
Sunday 1-Jul-18 Sunday 8-Jul-18 3299
Sunday 8-Jul-18 Sunday 15-Jul-18 3299
Thursday 12-Jul-18 Thursday 19-Jul-18 3299
Sunday 15-Jul-18 Sunday 22-Jul-18 3299
Thursday 19-Jul-18 Thursday 26-Jul-18 3299
Sunday 22-Jul-18 Sunday 29-Jul-18 3299
Thursday 26-Jul-18 Thursday 2-Aug-18 3299
Sunday 29-Jul-18 Sunday 5-Aug-18 3299
Sunday 5-Aug-18 Sunday 12-Aug-18 3299
Thursday 9-Aug-18 Thursday 16-Aug-18 3299
Sunday 12-Aug-18 Sunday 19-Aug-18 3299
Thursday 16-Aug-18 Thursday 23-Aug-18 3299
Sunday 19-Aug-18 Sunday 26-Aug-18 3299
Thursday 23-Aug-18 Thursday 30-Aug-18 3299
Sunday 26-Aug-18 Sunday 2-Sep-18 3299
Thursday 30-Aug-18 Thursday 6-Sep-18 3299
Sunday 2-Sep-18 Sunday 9-Sep-18 3299
Tuesday 4-Sep-18 Tuesday 11-Sep-18 3299
Thursday 6-Sep-18 Thursday 13-Sep-18 3299
Sunday 9-Sep-18 Sunday 16-Sep-18 3299
Thursday 13-Sep-18 Thursday 20-Sep-18 3299
Sunday 16-Sep-18 Sunday 23-Sep-18 3299
Tuesday 25-Sep-18 Tuesday 2-Oct-18 3299
Sunday 23-Sep-18 Sunday 30-Sep-18 3299
Thursday 27-Sep-18 Thursday 4-Oct-18 3299
Sunday 30-Sep-18 Sunday 7-Oct-18 3299
Sunday 7-Oct-18 Sunday 14-Oct-18 3299
Single Supplement     600

Not Available - No individual space available.Guaranteed=Guaranteed to go, and there are still a few seats available. Book now.
Private Departure=Departure booked by a group. No individual space available.

What will our hotels be like? Elegant, comfortable hotels, inns and castles which give you always reflect character and charm, A true feeling of the country that you are in. Not purpose built cookie-cutter hotels, each is unique and exudes its own charm.This traditional hotel, in an idyllic setting, with spectacular views across the sound of Sleat to the Knoydart Hills, retains its old world charm giving each guest a truly genuine highland welcome from the moment you arrive.

For example: Eilean Iarmain

Built in 1888, Hotel Eilean Iarmain is a 19th century small Country House Hotel, situated in a picturesque bay in the south of Skye. People have been coming here for over a hundred years, drawn by the landscape of this Hebridean Island, its geology, botany, ornithology, history, Gaelic language and culture. Privately owned, the Hotel has retained its old fashioned character in order to retain its Highland charm and old world atmosphere. The rooms are decorated in cotton and linen chintzes, with traditional furniture. There are log fires in the sitting room, dining room and in the bar. Candlelit dinners can be enjoyed in the dining room or conservatory, with views to the lighthouse and the bay.


BOOK THIS TODAY! CALL LYNOTT TOURS 9AM-6PM MONDAY-FRIDAY AT 1-800-221-2474 OR Please Email Us For Information