Scottish & Irish Glens 17 Days / 16 Nights

The perfect Scotland and Ireland itinerary, including the must-sees, and the special places like the Orkney Islands, sheepdog farms, Titanic Belfast and so much more. The best of Scotland Ireland travel. Map

Ballachulish Day 1: Glasgow Arrival & Loch Katrine Cruise
Begin your travel of the British Isles and Ireland at 3:00 pm when you meet your tour director at your hotel, located in the village of Drymen, 20 miles north of Glasgow. Take a short drive through the Trossachs, often called “The Highlands in Miniature” and embark on the steamboat “Sir Walter Scott” for a short cruise on Loch Katrine. Join your tour director and travel companions for a welcome drink before dinner. (D)

Day 2: Isle of Bute & Mount Stuart House
Journey across a scenic Highland route and over the mountain pass of “Rest & Be Thankful.” Take a short ferry ride to the scenic Isle of Bute to tour the highly-decorated chambers of 19th century Mount Stuart House. Spend time in the town of Rothesay before returning to the mainland. (D)

Cape Clear Day 3: Loch Lomond & Eilean Donan Castle
Travel alongside the famous Loch Lomond and journey through the deep valley of Glen Coe, often considered one of Scotland’s most spectacular and beautiful places. Continue through Fort William and take a break at a woolen mill. Visit the romantic Eilean Donan Castle, first built in the 13th century, rebuilt several times and partially ruined in 1719. Check in to your family-owned hotel near Kyle of Lochalsh. (B, D)

Day 4: Isle of Skye & Dunvegan Castle
Explore the Isle of Skye, associated with Bonnie Prince Charlie. Tour Dunvegan Castle, stronghold of the Chiefs of MacLeod for nearly 800 years to view priceless heirlooms. Stop in Portree for a look around and view the amazing natural formations of Kilt Rock. (B, D)

Royal Highland Show Day 5: Inverewe Gardens & Ullapool
Enjoy Highland scenery as you drive north along the west coast to visit Inverewe Gardens, where a haven of trees and shrubs was created from 50 acres of bleak headland in 1862. The varied plantings thrive due to the warmth of the Gulf Stream. Continue to Ullapool, an active fishing and ferry port that was built in 1788 to provide employment. Take a brief drive around the town and check in to your hotel. (B, D)

Day 6: Highland Scenery & Isle of Orkney
Head to the northernmost section of the Highlands which is sparsely populated. Learn about the Highland Clearances, a tragic period of history when crofters were forced off their lands. Continue to John O’Groats, the most northern place on the British mainland. Take a ferry to the Isles of Orkney and enjoy dinner on board. Check in to your hotel in central Kirkwall. (B, D)

Day 7: Orkney Sights & Skara Brae
Explore the Orkney Isles starting with a drive across the Churchill Barriers to see the Italian Chapel. View the prehistoric standing stones of the Ring of Brodgar and explore the remains of Skara Brae, a 5,000-year-old village. Return to Kirkwall to see 12th century St. Magnus Cathedral and dine independently. (B)

scotland ireland travelDay 8: Dunrobin Castle & Inverness
Return by ferry to the mainland and visit Dunrobin Castle, dating to 1275 but renovated in the mid-1800s. With 189 rooms this is the largest mansion in northern Scotland. Visit chambers containing priceless artifacts, including the dining room, music room and library with over 10,000 volumes. Continue south to your hotel in the center of Inverness, the principal town in the Highlands. (B, D)

Day 9: Urquhart Castle & Culloden Battlefield
Cruise into Loch Ness to visit the picturesque ruins of Urquhart Castle, once Scotland’s largest castle. Stop at the Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre to learn about the conflict where Bonnie Prince Charlie was defeated in 1746 and monuments to the many brave regiments. Stop for photos at Clava Cairns, a prehistoric burial place with a circle of standing stones that inspired the “Outlander” books. Return to Inverness in time to relax, shop or walk alongside the River Ness. (B, D)

Day 10: Sheepdog Trials & Whisky Tasting
Visit Leault Farm where skilled dogs obey commands to round up sheep. See how whisky is distilled at Blair Athol Distillery and enjoy a tasting at the end of the tour. In Edinburgh head to a Scottish Evening to dine on excellent Scottish cuisine followed by a lively show. (B, D)

Day 11: Edinburgh Castle & City Tour
This morning discover Edinburgh on a sightseeing tour. See the 200-year-old Georgian “New Town” and walk along part of the Royal Mile, the medieval heart of the city. Tour the imposing Edinburgh Castle to see historic buildings, the Stone of Scone and the Scottish Crown Jewels. Enjoy great views over the city and an afternoon and evening at leisure. On July 29 to August 14 departures attend the Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo at Edinburgh Castle. (B)

Stirling CastleDay 12: Titanic Belfast & Vibrant Dublin
Depart Edinburgh early this morning and drive south through Ayrshire and along the coast. At Cairnryan take a ferry ride to Belfast and enjoy lunch on board. Close to the Belfast ferry terminal in the heart of the docks, visit Titanic Belfast to learn about this famous liner through state-of-the-art displays. Drive south to Dublin and check in to your centrally-located hotel. You are free to dine independently. (B, L)

Day 13: Dublin Touring & Merry Ploughboy Pub
Enjoy the morning at leisure or use your included open-top bus tour voucher. At 2:00 pm meet a local guide and tour central Dublin to see Trinity College, public buildings, tranquil parks and rows of Georgian houses. Take a guided tour through historic Dublin Castle, seat of government for centuries. Dine at the Merry Ploughboy Pub and enjoy a great show. (B, D)

information for visitors to IrelandDay 14: Blarney Castle & Killarney
Depart Dublin and stop for photos at the stately Rock of Cashel. Visit Blarney Castle to kiss the famous “Stone of Eloquence” and shop at the Blarney Woollen Mills. Drive to Killarney, picturesquely set beside lakes and mountains. Check in to your hotel and relax before dinner. Afterwards you may like to head to a “singing pub.” (B, D)

Day 15: Ring of Kerry & Skellig Experience
Today embark on the Ring of Kerry drive – a winding route with awesome mountain and coastline views. Watch a local farmer and his dogs herding flocks of sheep. Cross to Valentia Island by bridge to visit the Skellig Experience which describes nearby islands. Enjoy an informal lunch and pause at Moll’s Gap for stunning views before returning to Killarney. (B, L)

Ireland travel vacationDay 16: Cliffs of Moher & Castle Banquet
Take a ferry ride across the River Shannon Estuary and view the Cliffs of Moher, a spectacular wall of sandstone that reaches 700 feet above the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy free time before heading to Bunratty or Knappogue Castle for a memorable medieval-style feast with a program of song and harp music. (B, D)

Day 17: Tour end in Shannon
Your tour ends after breakfast. Your Scotland Ireland travel has come to an end for th time being. We hope you will return!(B)

B: Breakfast; L: Lunch; D: Dinner

  • Sightseeing by luxury coach
  • Professional tour director
  • 16 nights in hotels listed
  • Full breakfast daily (B) except on day 1
  • 12 dinners (D) including
    - Scottish Evening in Edinburgh
    - Merry Ploughboy Pub dinner and traditional show
    - Bunratty or Knappogue Castle Medieval Banquet 
    - 9 table d'hote dinners
  • 2 lunches (L)
  • Welcome get-together drink
  • Tour of Edinburgh and Dublin
  • Loch Katrine steamboat cruise and cruise on Loch Ness
  • Round trip ferry rides to Isles of Arran, Orkney, from Scotland to Ireland and across the River Shannon
  • Isle of Arran Distillery whisky tasting and tour
  • Sheepdog trials in Scotland & Ireland
  • Reserved seats for Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo on July 29 to August 14 departures
  • Dublin open-top bus tour with a visit to Guinness Storehouse or General Post Office Museum
  • Visits and admissions to Eilean Donan Castle, Dunvegan Castle, Kilt Rock, Inverewe Gardens, John o’Groats, Skara Brae, Ring of Brodgar, St Magnus Cathedral, Italian Chapel, Dunrobin Castle, Urquhart Castle, Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre, St Andrews, Edinburgh Castle, Titanic Belfast, Dublin Castle, Blarney Castle, Blarney Woollen Mills, Skellig Experience and Cliffs of Moher
  • Audio headsets and group photo
  • Deluxe carry-on backpack, ticket wallet, luggage tags & strap
  • All local taxes, hotel service charges & porterage for one suitcase per person
  • Free Wi-Fi on coaches and in hotel lobbies

    The Winnock Hotel Drymen, near Glasgow (2 nights)
    The Balmacara Hotel near Kyle of Lochalsh (2 nights)
    The Royal Hotel Ullapool (1 night)
    Kirkwall Hotel or Ayre Hotel Kirkwall (2 nights)
    Columba Hotel Inverness (2 nights)
    Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh (2 nights)
    Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin (2 nights)
    Killarney Towers Hotel Killarney (2 nights)
    Bunratty Castle Hotel Bunratty (1 night)

    17 days Glasgow to Shannon
    Start End      Special
    Glasgow Shannon Departure
    Sat Apr 15, 2017 Mon May 01 2017 US$3984 Sold Out
    Sat Apr 22, 2017 Mon May 08 2017 US$3984 Sold Out
    Sat May 06 2017 Mon May 22, 2017 US$4126 Sold Out
    Sat May 20, 2017 Mon Jun 05 2017 US$4126 Guaranteed
    Sat Jun 03 2017 Mon Jun 19, 2017 US$4564 Sold Out
    Sat Jun 10, 2017 Mon Jun 26, 2017 US$4564 Guaranteed
    Sat Jun 17, 2017 Mon Jul 03 2017 US$4564 Guaranteed
    Mon Jun 19, 2017 Wed Jul 05 2017 US$4564 Sold Out
    Sat Jul 01 2017 Mon Jul 17, 2017 US$4564 Sold Out
    Mon Jul 03 2017 Wed Jul 19, 2017 US$4564 Guaranteed
    Sat Jul 15, 2017 Mon Jul 31, 2017 US$4564 Guaranteed
    Mon Jul 17, 2017 Wed Aug 02 2017 US$4564 Sold Out
    Sat Jul 22, 2017 Mon Aug 07 2017 US$4564 Guaranteed
    Sat Jul 29, 2017 Mon Aug 14, 2017 US$4674 Sold Out
    Mon Jul 31, 2017 Wed Aug 16, 2017 US$4674 Sold Out
    Sat Aug 05 2017 Mon Aug 21, 2017 US$4674 Sold Out
    Mon Aug 07 2017 Wed Aug 23, 2017 US$5532 Sold Out
    Sat Aug 12, 2017 Mon Aug 28, 2017 US$4674 Sold Out
    Mon Aug 14, 2017 Wed Aug 30, 2017 US$4674 Tattoo/Tour Guaranteed
    Sat Aug 19, 2017 Mon Sep 04 2017 US$4564 Guaranteed
    Sat Aug 26, 2017 Mon Sep 11, 2017 US$4564 Guaranteed
    Mon Sep 04 2017 Wed Sep 20, 2017 US$4454 Guaranteed
    Sat Sep 09 2017 Mon Sep 25, 2017 US$4454 Guaranteed
    Sat Sep 16, 2017 Mon Oct 02 2017 US$4454 Sold Out
    Mon Sep 18, 2017 Wed Oct 04 2017 US$4454 Guaranteed
    Sat Sep 23, 2017 Mon Oct 09 2017 US$4454 Guaranteed
    Sat Sep 30, 2017 Mon Oct 16, 2017 US$4154 Guaranteed
    Sat Oct 14, 2017 Mon Oct 30, 2017 US$4154 Guaranteed
    Single room supplement: $858
    18 days Glasgow to Dublin
    Start End      Special
    Glasgow Dublin Departure
    Sat Apr 22, 2017 Tue May 09 2017 US$4096 Sold Out
    Sat May 06 2017 Tue May 23, 2017 US$4248 Sold Out
    Sat May 20, 2017 Tue Jun 06 2017 US$4248 Guaranteed
    Sat Jun 03 2017 Tue Jun 20, 2017 US$4688 Sold Out
    Sat Jun 10, 2017 Tue Jun 27, 2017 US$4688 Guaranteed
    Sat Jun 17, 2017 Tue Jul 04 2017 US$4688 Guaranteed
    Mon Jun 19, 2017 Thu Jul 06 2017 US$4688 Sold Out
    Sat Jul 01 2017 Tue Jul 18, 2017 US$4688 Sold Out
    Mon Jul 03 2017 Thu Jul 20, 2017 US$4688 Guaranteed
    Sat Jul 15, 2017 Tue Aug 01 2017 US$4688 Guaranteed
    Mon Jul 17, 2017 Thu Aug 03 2017 US$4688 Guaranteed
    Sat Jul 22, 2017 Tue Aug 08 2017 US$4688 Guaranteed
    Sat Jul 29, 2017 Tue Aug 15, 2017 US$4798 Tattoo/Tour Guaranteed
    Mon Jul 31, 2017 Thu Aug 17, 2017 US$4798 Tattoo/Tour Guaranteed
    Sat Aug 05 2017 Tue Aug 22, 2017 US$4798 Tattoo/Tour Guaranteed
    Mon Aug 07 2017 Thu Aug 24, 2017 US$4798 Tattoo/Tour Guaranteed
    Sat Aug 12, 2017 Tue Aug 29, 2017 US$4798 Tattoo/Tour Guaranteed
    Mon Aug 14, 2017 Thu Aug 31, 2017 US$4798 Tattoo/Tour Guaranteed
    Sat Aug 19, 2017 Tue Sep 05 2017 US$4688 Guaranteed
    Sat Aug 26, 2017 Tue Sep 12, 2017 US$4688 Guaranteed
    Mon Sep 04 2017 Thu Sep 21, 2017 US$4578 Guaranteed
    Sat Sep 09 2017 Tue Sep 26, 2017 US$4578 Guaranteed
    Sat Sep 16, 2017 Tue Oct 03 2017 US$4578 Guaranteed
    Mon Sep 18, 2017 Thu Oct 05 2017 US$4578 Guaranteed
    Sat Sep 23, 2017 Tue Oct 10, 2017 US$4578 Guaranteed
    Sat Sep 30, 2017 Tue Oct 17, 2017 US$4278 Guaranteed
    Sat Oct 14, 2017 Tue Oct 31, 2017 US$4278 Guaranteed
    Single room supplement: $916


    Send an email for irelandPlease Email Us For Information

    Questions? Call Lynott Tours at 1 (800) 221-2474 USA Canada; 516 248 2042 ELSEWHERE