2018 Essence of Britain & Ireland 10, 11 or 14 Day Tour This circular tour from London stays in Cardiff, Waterford, Dublin, Edinburgh and York. Experience historic Stonehenge, Bath, York and Stratford-upon-Avon as well as fun visits such as dogs herding sheep, farm tea with scones, historic walks and hop-on, hop-off city tours. Great meals daily including three special evenings

. map

2018 ESSENCE OF BRITAIN & IRELAND 10 DAYS / 9 NIGHTS

Day 1: LONDON ARRIVAL & ORIENTATION
Tour begins 2:00 PM, London hotel. Head out on a panoramic drive around central London to see many famous landmarks including Piccadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square, Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, St. Paul’s Cathedral and the Tower of London. In the evening enjoy a welcome drink with your group before dinner.(D)

bANKSYDay 2: STONEHENGE & ROMAN BATHS
Head to Salisbury Plain to view the prehistoric circle of vast monoliths at Stonehenge. Continue to Bath to tour the Roman Baths and Pump Room, first built by the Romans 2,000 years ago. In Cardiff, enjoy a Welsh evening of local specialties and traditional entertainment.(B, D)

Day 3: CARDIFF & FERRY TO WATERFORD
After a panoramic tour of Cardiff visit Cardiff Castle, developed in Roman times and transformed into an elaborate Gothic style residence in the 19th century. Journey through the gentle, green countryside to the west coast. At Pembroke Dock embark on an afternoon ferry crossing to Rosslare and on to Waterford.
(B, D)


Day 4: SHEEP HERDING & DUBLIN’S MERRY PLOUGHBOY PUB
Start the day with a walking tour of historic Waterford. Witness the creation of crystal masterpieces at the House of Waterford Crystal. At Jerpoint Park enjoy a sheep herding demonstration and sample scones with tea. Stop briefly in Kilkenny before heading to Dublin. Dine at the lively Merry Ploughboy Pub with an entertaining show.(B, D)

Day 5: GLASNEVIN CEMETERY MUSEUM & DUBLIN SIGHTSEEING
Tour Dublin city to see elegant Georgian squares with brightly-painted doorways and the General Post Office where the 1916 Rebellion started. Visit Glasnevin Cemetery Museum, Ireland’s national cemetery, which is a who’s who of modern Irish history. The afternoon and evening are free to use your vouchers for an independent open-top bus tour and a visit to one attraction.(B)

sCENIC SCOTLANDDay 6: BELFAST SIGHTSEEING & SCOTLAND
Head to Belfast where you’ll enjoy a panoramic tour to see Victorian buildings, the Harland & Wolff shipyards where the Titanic was built and the Falls Road and Shankill residential areas. Take a ferry from Belfast to Cairnryan. Travel through gentle pasturelands to the central belt of Scotland. Stop en route for dinner before continuing to Edinburgh, Scotland’s capital city.(B, D)

Day 7: EDINBURGH CASTLE & CITY TOUR
Take a drive around central Edinburgh to see the main points of interest, including the 200-year-old “New Town” with elegant Georgian houses and the Palace of Holyroodhouse. Walk along part of the Royal Mile where medieval houses are clustered closely together. Tour the massive Edinburgh Castle to see the Crown Jewels of Scotland and the Stone of Destiny. The afternoon is free for independent activities. On August 3 to August 17 departures watch the spectacular Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo at Edinburgh Castle.(B)

Day 8: SCOTTISH BORDERS & YORK
Travel through the charming Borders region with many quaint towns, manor houses and abbeys. Stop in Jedburgh to see the picturesque ruins of Jedburgh Abbey. Continue to York for a walking tour to appreciate narrow streets where the medieval houses almost touch across the street. Tour the stately Gothic York Minster, which dates back to the 12th century and is noted for its magnificent medieval stained glass windows.(B, D)

Day 9: SHAKESPEARE’S BIRTHPLACE & LONDON
In Stratford-upon-Avon visit Shakespeare’s birthplace to see an exhibition about his life and work. Walk through the furnished house where he was born and take a look around the town with its many black-and-white buildings. Drive through the Cotswolds to London for an independent evening.(B)

Day 10: TOUR ENDS IN LONDON
Your tour ends after breakfast. (B)

10 days London to London    
Start End      Special
LONDON LONDON Departure
   
Fri Apr 13, 2018 Sun Apr 22, 2018 US$2690 Guaranteed
Fri May 11, 2018 Sun May 20, 2018 US$2840
Fri May 25, 2018 Sun Jun 03 2018 US$2840 Guaranteed
Fri Jun 22, 2018 Sun Jul 01 2018 US$2840
Fri Jul 06 2018 Sun Jul 15, 2018 US$2840 Guaranteed
Fri Jul 20, 2018 Sun Jul 29, 2018 US$2840
Fri Aug 03 2018 Sun Aug 12, 2018 US$3125 Tattoo/Tour Guaranteed
Fri Aug 17, 2018 Sun Aug 26, 2018 US$3125 Tattoo
Fri Aug 31, 2018 Sun Sep 09 2018 US$2840
Fri Sep 07 2018 Sun Sep 16, 2018 US$2840 Guaranteed
Fri Sep 14, 2018 Sun Sep 23, 2018 US$2840
Fri Sep 28, 2018 Sun Oct 07 2018 US$2765 Guaranteed
Fri Oct 05 2018 Sun Oct 14, 2018 US$2685
Single room supplement: $675
11 days London to London
   
Start End      Special
LONDON LONDON Departure
   
Fri Apr 13, 2018 Mon Apr 23, 2018 US$2940 Guaranteed
Fri May 11, 2018 Mon May 21, 2018 US$3075
Fri May 25, 2018 Mon Jun 04 2018 US$3075 Guaranteed
Fri Jun 22, 2018 Mon Jul 02 2018 US$3075
Fri Jul 06 2018 Mon Jul 16, 2018 US$3075 Guaranteed
Fri Jul 20, 2018 Mon Jul 30, 2018 US$3075
Fri Aug 03 2018 Mon Aug 13, 2018 US$3270 Tattoo/Tour Guaranteed
Fri Aug 17, 2018 Mon Aug 27, 2018 US$3270 Tattoo
Fri Aug 31, 2018 Mon Sep 10, 2018 US$3075
Fri Sep 07 2018 Mon Sep 17, 2018 US$3075 Guaranteed
Fri Sep 14, 2018 Mon Sep 24, 2018 US$3075
Fri Sep 28, 2018 Mon Oct 08 2018 US$3005 Guaranteed
Fri Oct 05 2018 Mon Oct 15, 2018 US$2935
Single room supplement: $785