Heart of England Tour
OXFORD, COTSWOLDS, BATH, AVEBURY
Small group tour limited to 16

It's England where pomp and circumstance and corner pubs are not seen as an odd mix, where the civil rights of hedgehogs are seriously discussed, and where eccentricity isn't considered strange. Some of the most dramatic scenery in England is here in the Corswolds, literary Stratford, and Roman Bath. Visit a quintessential stately home, and share in stories of English history along the way.

Stonehenge tour

DAY 1 LONDON - OXFORD - COTSWOLDS

We are off to Oxford. The splendor of the college architecture lends an unequalled dignity to Oxford's busy streets.  Their closed courts and well kept gardens are a timeless haven.  The Broad, the Cornmarket and the High are streets where life goes on.  Here, and in the maze of side streets and winding narrow lanes that lead off, are most of the old colleges, the students' pubs, little restaurants, antique and curio shops.

Perfectly kept cottages trimmed with fuschia hedges, black and white cows and bulls, and butter golden gorse dot the hillsides in the Cotswolds. Our final stop of the day and our home for the next two nights is the market town Chipping Campden. View the pretty, terraced high street with its traditional market hall, before we see in day one together with a delicious welcome dinner. (D)

Overnight: Kings Hotel (or similar)

STratford

DAY 2 COTSWOLDS - STRATFORD-UPON-AVON - COTSWOLDS

Known primarily as the home of the Bard, Stratford is a bustling market town in the heart of England.  You visit Anne Hathaway's birthplace - a quaint thatched cottage in idyllic Shottery and Shakespeare's timber-framed home on Henley Street.  Shakespeare's grammar school and Holy Trinity Church still stand.  The most elaborate timbered house is Harvard House, built in 1596 by the grandparents of the founder of Harvard University. Along the highways and byways lie antique sprawls of whitewashed stone cottages, dark wood pubs, perfect glens, golden gorse and verdant hills.. (B)

Overnight: Kings Hotel (or similar)

DAY 3 COTSWOLDS - LACOCK - BATH

It’s time to indulge our costume drama dreams at Lacock – a showstopper of a village that often doubles as a film set. We take time to explore every nook and cranny, from the historic streets strolled by the Bennet sisters in Pride and Prejudice, to the 11th century church and riverside walks. We step inside the magnificent abbey – whose peaceful cloisters took a starring turn as the Hogwarts’ hallways in the Harry Potter series – and learn all about its unique architecture. Lacock is famed not just for film but photography too, as the home of 19th century pioneer Fox Talbot, who we learn all about at the museum.

Then it’s on to Castle Combe, a chocolate-box Wiltshire village on the southern-most edge of the Cotswolds. With its weavers’ cottages lining the riverbanks, it’s often called ‘the prettiest village in England’, making it the perfect backdrop for a traditional cream tea. We finish today in Bath, a UNESCO World Heritage city with true wow factor, where we make ourselves at home for our final two nights (B)

Overnight: Abbey Hotel (or similar)


DAY 4 BATH

The spa at Bath has attracted visitors from all over Britain and other parts of the world for centuries.  It was under the benevolent patronage of Beau Nash that it rose to the queen of English watering places and one of the most important spas in the world.  You explore this Georgian city, including the Roman Baths, Pump Room, and the grand Royal Crescent. After that, the afternoon is yours. You could enjoy a bit of ‘me time’ at Thermae Bath Spa, Britain’s only thermal spa where you can bathe in mineral-rich waters and scan the skyline from the rooftop pool. Or discover Bath’s proud independent side, browsing stylish boutiques and celebrated coffee shops. By the time we come together to enjoy a last-night dinner, we’ll have much to talk about. (B, D)

Overnight: Abbey Hotel (or similar)


Avebury stone circleDAY 5 BATH - LONGLEAT - AVEBURY - LONDON

The best way to follow up a day in Bath is with a morning at Longleat. This English stately home, the current seat of the Marquess of Bath, blends classic architecture with creative interiors and stands amid a safari park. And we get a behind-the-scenes tour of the house. Afterwards, our journey continues to Avebury, an immense stone circle set within an ancient landscape of enigmatic monuments, tombs and roads that were first walked millennia ago. While Stonehenge attracts tourists from around the world, but doesn’t permit close access, at Avebury we walk freely among the standing stones. Steeped in mystery, these prehistoric stone circles are a fascinating sight – and a tremendous final stop on our tour. That just leaves a leisurely drive back to the bright lights of London. You bid your fond farewell to England and your Lynott Tours Guide as you exit your coach. (B)

Pick-Up & Drop-Off

This tour commences from the Grange Wellington Hotel, 71-72 Vincent Square, London, SW1P 2PA at 8.30am. Please ensure you are at the meeting point at least 15 minutes prior to departure. The tour finishes at 5:30pm

T O U R I N C L U D E S
  • 4 nights’ accommodation in boutique hotels
  • Experienced tour leader
  • Luxury mini-coach transportation
  • Full English breakfast daily (B)
  • Two dinners (D)
  • A guided walking tour of Oxford
  • One traditional high tea
  • Entrance fee included to: Anne Hathaway’s Cottage, Shakespeare’s Birthplace, Lacock Abbey, Roman Baths, No.1 Royal Crescent, Longleat House and Avebury Stone Circle.

  • Heart of England 2018
    Starts  London Ends London Price per person USD
    Monday 16-Apr-18 Friday 20-Apr-18 1,919
    Monday 23-Apr-18 Friday 27-Apr-18 1,919
    Monday 7-May-18 Friday 11-May-18 1,959
    Monday 14-May-18 Friday 18-May-18 1,959
    Friday 18-May-18 Tuesday 22-May-18 1,959
    Monday 21-May-18 Friday 25-May-18 1,959
    Friday 25-May-18 Tuesday 29-May-18 1,959
    Monday 28-May-18 Friday 1-Jun-18 1,959
    Monday 4-Jun-18 Friday 8-Jun-18 1,959
    Monday 11-Jun-18 Friday 15-Jun-18 1,959
    Monday 18-Jun-18 Friday 22-Jun-18 1,959
    Monday 25-Jun-18 Friday 29-Jun-18 1,959
    Monday 2-Jul-18 Friday 6-Jul-18 1,959
    Monday 9-Jul-18 Friday 13-Jul-18 1,959
    Monday 16-Jul-18 Friday 20-Jul-18 1,959
    Monday 30-Jul-18 Friday 3-Aug-18 1,959
    Monday 6-Aug-18 Friday 10-Aug-18 1,959
    Monday 13-Aug-18 Friday 17-Aug-18 1,959
    Monday 20-Aug-18 Friday 24-Aug-18 1,959
    Monday 27-Aug-18 Friday 31-Aug-18 1,959
    Monday 3-Sep-18 Friday 7-Sep-18 1,959
    Monday 10-Sep-18 Friday 14-Sep-18 1,959
    Monday 17-Sep-18 Friday 21-Sep-18 1,959
    Monday 24-Sep-18 Friday 28-Sep-18 1,959
    Wednesday 26-Sep-18 Sunday 30-Sep-18 1,959
    Monday 1-Oct-18 Friday 5-Oct-18 1,919
    Monday 8-Oct-18 Friday 12-Oct-18 1,919
    Single Supplement 400

    Call 1-800-221-2474   9AM - 6PM or Please Email Us For Information


    Please Email Us For Information